Corporate Identity

Ilmu Demi Faedah Insan

The Government’s decision to establish Sultan Zainal Abidin University has been a milestone in the development of the country’s public education institutions and is a pride of the people of Terengganu  and the Malaysian community as a whole.

The chronology of the establishment of UniSZA:

  • 1980 – Sultan Zainal Abidin Religious College (KUSZA) is established and operating at Sultan Zainal Abidin Religious High School located in Batu Buruk, Kuala Terengganu
  • 1985 – Laying of KUSZA foundation stone in Gong Rhino by His Excellency the late Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah
  • 2005 – Announcement of the establishment of Darul Iman Malaysia University (UDM) by the Honorable Prime Minister, Dato ‘Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on March 26, 2005
  • 2006 – Universiti Darul Iman Malaysia (UDM) commenced operations on 1 January 2006
  • 2010 – UDM renamed Sultan Zainal Abidin University (UniSZA) on May 13, 2010

Leadership - KUSZA-UDM-UniSZA

Dr. Wan Shamsuddin bin Wan Mamat

Director of KUSZA

13th July 1981 - 19th March 1987

Prof. Dr. Hamid bin Abdullah

Director of KUSZA

1st Nov 1987 - 31st Dec 1990

Dato' Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim bin Shukri

Director of KUSZA

1st May 1991 - 31st Dec 1997

Ustaz Che Ismail bin Abdul Halim

Director of KUSZA

1st June 1998 - 31st July 2002

Prof. Madya Dr. Amat @ Anwar bin Zainal Abidin

Director of KUSZA

1st Sep 2002 - 26th Mar 2004

Prof. Dr. Ahmad Shukri bin Yazid

Director of KUSZA

2004 - 2005

Dato Prof. Dr. Alias bin Daud

Vice Chancellor of UDM and UniSZA

1st Jan 2006 - 31st Dec 2012

Prof. Datuk Dr. Yahaya bin Ibrahim

Prof. Datuk Dr. Yahaya bin Ibrahim Vice Chancellor of UniSZA

1st Jan 2013 - 31st Dec 2015

Prof. Dato' Dr. Ahmad Zubaidi bin A. Latif

Vice Chancellor of UniSZA

1st Feb 2016 - 31st Jan 2019

Prof. Dato' Dr. Hassan Basri bin Awang Mat Dahan

Vice Chancellor of UniSZA

1st Feb 2019 - 2022

Profesor Dr. Fadzli Bin Adam

Vice Chancellor of UniSZA

1 Mar 2022 - Current