History of Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin

Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA) started as Kolej Ugama Sultan Zainal Abidin (KUSZA). KUSZA commenced operation on 1 January 1980 at Batu Burok before moving to Hajah Wook Building in Pulau Kambing in 1981.

KUSZA was upgraded to a university status and became Universiti Darul Iman (UDM). UDM underwent a rebranding process on 14 May 2010 and became known as Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA). The name of the late Sultan Zainal Abidin III Muazzam Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Ahmad Muazzam Shah II, Sultan The 11th Terengganu is adopted to honour the services of His Majesty in spreading knowledge and religion in the state of Terengganu.

On November 29, 2013, a new UniSZA logo was introduced. UniSZA currently operates in three campuses, namely the Gong Badak Campus (Kuala Nerus) as the main campus, Medical Campus (Kuala Terengganu) and Besut Campus as well as operating a satellite office in Putrajaya.

Our Vision

Contemporary Integrated Islamic University (CIIU)

Our Mission

To produce holistic individuals with Naseem values through educational excellence and high impact research towards empowering society

UniSZA Logo

UniSZA Rating

UniSZA’s Policy

At UniSZA, you’ll find excellent teaching a welcoming community and one of the best overall student experiences in the Malaysia. We’re surrounded by nature but we’re well connected to major towns and cities.